The Castle of Antimachia, strategically positioned with a commanding view over the sea passage between Kos and Nisyros, is mentioned in documents from the period of the Knights Hospitaller under the names “de Landemachi” and “Lindemachii”, while 18th-century travellers referred to it as “Andimesia”. Its large size and the remains of numerous buildings within its walls indicate that it was a fortified settlement. It was built and strengthened during different periods, from the era of the Knights Hospitaller to the Ottoman period. Covering an area of 26,250 sq. m., with walls extending over a perimeter of 970 metres, the castle features impressive defensive elements, including cannon embrasures, machicolations and a semi-circular bastion dating from the 16th century. Inside the fortress stand the churches of Agia Paraskevi and Saint Nicholas, as well as a large underground cistern. The first written reference to the castle dates back to 1358, while sources indicate that it was built during the tenure of Grand Master H. de Villeneuve. In 1457, it withstood a major siege by the Turkish fleet that lasted 23 days, protecting thousands of inhabitants of Kos. The castle suffered severe damage during the great earthquake of 1493 and was subsequently repaired, reinforced and probably expanded by the Knights Hospitaller.
http://odysseus.culture.gr Συντάκτης Δ. Μποσνάκης, Αρχαιολόγος, Ε. Σκέρλου, Αρχαιολόγος